Non-Fiction Anti-Summer Reads

When school got out for the summer, I thought GREAT! Time to catch up on my #2015readinggoal of 100 books. You can see how well that’s worked out here:

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 5.53.38 PM

Am I the only one who finds that “Looking strong!” comment irritating when below it says “5 books behind schedule” in tiny grey print? Whatever.

Instead of mindless summer reads (though this and this were not exactly English-course-worthy), I dove into some pretty heady non-fiction that had similar themes to one another.

  • There Are No Children Here – recommended to me by one of my book club friends, I found this account of life in the Henry Horner Homes, a public housing project on the west side of Chicago, to be startling and necessary. Though since demolished, the violence, desperation, and reality of this narrative is not a part of history but instead very present where I live today.
  • Ghettoside: A True Story of Murder in America – recommended to me by a list of highly acclaimed and recently published non-fiction, I found this investigation of murder in Los Angeles to be relevant given that I was to travel there this summer. While I appreciated the compassion and craft involved in this author’s storytelling, it didn’t tell me too much that I didn’t already know. That being said, I’ve talked about it a lot, and things I’ve learned from it come up in conversation frequently.
  • Columbine – lent to me by a co-worker, I began mentioning it in conversation when I first received it. Three people I knew said they read it and loved it. I saved it for summer time, thinking this book would be best read removed from the classroom environment and day-to-day stress of teaching. This was a good choice, I think. I devoured this book and can’t stop talking about it/thinking about it.

Oops, gotta go – I’m 5 books behind schedule.

Leave a Reply

